Seas of Grey

They see me as a dreamer

A hoper, a fighter

I am confident and strong

I’m a work-all-nighter.

But what they can’t see

What’s inside

These gloomy grey seas

Creep into my mind.

These waves of pain

Drag me up the beach

The riptide of doubt make

Air out of reach.

These oceans of worry 

In which I struggle 

Wash into my thoughts

Clear thinking is muddled. 

Though I may fit in

Be a leader of the crowds

My self-made limits

Will drown out all sound.

All I can think

All I can see

Are these seas of grey 

Glaring back at me.

One thought on “Seas of Grey

Leave a Reply

